You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to Nostale UK. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Indeceseant

Green Trainee

  • "Indeceseant" has been banned
  • "Indeceseant" started this thread

Posts: 415

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Occupation: School

  • Send private message

1

Monday, September 10th 2007, 5:30pm

[Guide] Fixing 99% Of Errors When Patching {Updated}

<PLEASE READ THIS WHOLE GUIDE FULLY AND TRY EVERYTHING BEFORE REPLYING WITH YOUR OUTCOME>

<I also recommend doing them one at a time and trying to Patch again after doing each step, so you know what your problem was>.

I've done some major digging and anyone with a problem Patching the game after an Update should try this:

1.* Open My Computer > Local Disc (C:/) > Program Files > Nostale(UK) > "Right Click Properties > Uncheck the "Read Only" Box .

Then do this:

2.* Open My Computer > Local Disc (C:/) > Program Files > Nostale(UK) > "Right Click Properties > Security Tab > Click Edit > "Go through them all and check the box that says "Full Control" for each of those users. i.e:
CREATOR OWNER > Check "Full Control"
SYSTEM > Check "Full Control"
etc.

Then Click Apply.
Wait for it to make you the owner of all the files.
After this its best to restart your computer but you don't really need to.
It's suggested though.

After that try re-patching the game, remember it takes a few minutes.
I've found that this is a very good and almost guaranteed way of fixing the Patch Problems.
3.* If you cannot see the security tab read the following:

Quoted

Originally posted by Indeceseant
If you want to see the Security tab, you need to tell Windows to show it to you. To do so, follow these steps:

Go to Windows Explorer, and then click on the Tools menu and select Folder Options.
Click on the View tab and then scroll down to the bottom of the Advanced Settings portion of the Folder Options dialog box.
Clear the "Use Simple File Sharing" checkbox and click OK.

Of course, NTFS permissions are only visible on NTFS volumes, so if your volume is formatted as FAT, you still won't see the Security tab.


4.* Try looking at the links below for more help:
***Naomi's Breif Download/Patch Guide

P.S: Local Disc (C:/) > Program Files > Nostale(UK) >
Now I know for some of you that the stuff in bold might be different because you installed Nostale on a HDD with a different drive letter, so just go to where you installed Nostale and do what I say :D.

P.S: Please tell me if this helps you at all I need to know!! (BUT ONLY AFTER TRYING EVERYTHING)!! And Don't Forget To Tell Me What Part Fixed It For You.

EDIT: Photobucket Account Removed, Pictures Removed, Text Added.
Guide Still Accurate and Working!

_______________________________________________

This Guide is like V 2.3 now. And is around final. I doubt I will make any more adjustments to it.

~Indy.

This post has been edited 23 times, last edit by "Indeceseant" (Oct 17th 2007, 5:04pm)


Fienieg

Blue Expert

Posts: 411

Date of registration: Aug 24th 2007

  • Send private message

2

Monday, September 10th 2007, 5:39pm

Thanks very much!!!

I never experienced problems, but i have full controle :)

Your Administrator

Indeceseant

Green Trainee

  • "Indeceseant" has been banned
  • "Indeceseant" started this thread

Posts: 415

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Occupation: School

  • Send private message

3

Monday, September 10th 2007, 5:46pm

Lots of people will find that they don't have write access to the folder because its:

A) New.
B) They are not an Admin.

Secondly most/all programs i.e Nostale's Loader/Updater don't have write access to this location.
Meaning the update will be downloaded (hence the waiting time)
but not written over the files that are old and need to be replaced.

Thats why you need to do what I said.
Like I also said thats maybe only 33% of the full guide.
I will write the rest after doing more digging/having a good nights sleep.

Posts: 3

Date of registration: Sep 10th 2007

Location: lietuva

Occupation: live

  • Send private message

4

Monday, September 10th 2007, 7:36pm

what if when click properties not that window show... general, sharing and cuztomise and all column i see...
XD

Posts: 2

Date of registration: Sep 10th 2007

  • Send private message

5

Monday, September 10th 2007, 9:53pm

RE: FIXING 99% OF PATCH ERRORS [Guide]

did everything, even restarted but didnt work, just kept on telling me that there is an error during patch download... cant they at least make a download link for all recent patches to avoid these problems?
?( ?( ?(

Indeceseant

Green Trainee

  • "Indeceseant" has been banned
  • "Indeceseant" started this thread

Posts: 415

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Occupation: School

  • Send private message

6

Tuesday, September 11th 2007, 3:44am

IchigoXD tell me what Version of Windows you are using and I will turn you what to do to be able to see that window ;)

Posts: 48

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Location: Sweden

  • Send private message

7

Tuesday, September 11th 2007, 12:34pm

Nice ... Think this will help lots of people out :)
Your Buddy

Indeceseant

Green Trainee

  • "Indeceseant" has been banned
  • "Indeceseant" started this thread

Posts: 415

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Occupation: School

  • Send private message

8

Wednesday, September 12th 2007, 3:53am

I'm doing some more today after I get back from work.!

Posts: 29

Date of registration: Aug 28th 2007

Location: Box

  • Send private message

9

Wednesday, September 12th 2007, 2:40pm

i think ichigo is using XP

This post has been edited 666 time(s), it was last edited by Shiney: Today, 6:66

Posts: 7

Date of registration: Sep 12th 2007

Location: Canada

Occupation: Student...

  • Send private message

10

Thursday, September 13th 2007, 1:40am

Im right clicking but im not getting the same thing that your showing... im getting this :
Never underestimate the power of a true moron!!

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "Redmoron" (Sep 13th 2007, 1:41am)


Indeceseant

Green Trainee

  • "Indeceseant" has been banned
  • "Indeceseant" started this thread

Posts: 415

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Occupation: School

  • Send private message

11

Thursday, September 13th 2007, 4:24am

Read whats under the red text that will tell you how to display the security tab.

:))

Posts: 7

Date of registration: Sep 12th 2007

Location: Canada

Occupation: Student...

  • Send private message

12

Thursday, September 13th 2007, 9:45pm

ok... but I find something really weird and I hope its ok... I did wut u said and when I pressed on the security tab I directly got the window that u get when u press the edit button, and the Full Control box wuz already checked (so were all the others) is that normal? ?(

(I reset my computer and I tried launching and it didnt work)
Never underestimate the power of a true moron!!

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "Redmoron" (Sep 13th 2007, 9:51pm)


Indeceseant

Green Trainee

  • "Indeceseant" has been banned
  • "Indeceseant" started this thread

Posts: 415

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Occupation: School

  • Send private message

13

Friday, September 14th 2007, 1:15am

Yes thats normal of you don't have Vista I'm pretty sure and also because you proberly just turned it on.
Also did you just open the window and then restart or did you check all the boxes.

Posts: 12

Date of registration: Sep 13th 2007

Location: Canada

Occupation: sdffdsfd

  • Send private message

14

Friday, September 14th 2007, 7:44am

I dont have Nostale(UK) in ProgramFiles :(
I Am new in Nostale :D

«·´¨*·.¸¸.«·... NewMember ...·».¸¸.·*¨`·»

Indeceseant

Green Trainee

  • "Indeceseant" has been banned
  • "Indeceseant" started this thread

Posts: 415

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Occupation: School

  • Send private message

15

Friday, September 14th 2007, 7:44am

O.O Where did you install it too then? :O

Posts: 12

Date of registration: Sep 13th 2007

Location: Canada

Occupation: sdffdsfd

  • Send private message

16

Friday, September 14th 2007, 7:51am

I dont know i downloaded it with flashget idk wher? ?(?
I Am new in Nostale :D

«·´¨*·.¸¸.«·... NewMember ...·».¸¸.·*¨`·»

Posts: 6

Date of registration: Sep 9th 2007

Location: Sydney

Occupation: Student

  • Send private message

17

Friday, September 14th 2007, 9:53am

Hmm...I can't find the security tab. I read your section on changing the folder options, but I can't find the 'simple file sharing' option to uncheck. =/

Indeceseant

Green Trainee

  • "Indeceseant" has been banned
  • "Indeceseant" started this thread

Posts: 415

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Occupation: School

  • Send private message

18

Friday, September 14th 2007, 10:29am

What version of windows are you using?

Posts: 6

Date of registration: Sep 9th 2007

Location: Sydney

Occupation: Student

  • Send private message

19

Friday, September 14th 2007, 10:34am

I'm using windows xp.

Indeceseant

Green Trainee

  • "Indeceseant" has been banned
  • "Indeceseant" started this thread

Posts: 415

Date of registration: Aug 29th 2007

Occupation: School

  • Send private message

20

Friday, September 14th 2007, 10:38am

Home or Pro please be specific.
I cannot help right away because I am on the phone atm sorry.
But remember you only need to do this if your getting errors with patching. You don't want to do this when everything is fine because it would be a waste of time and you might mess up.
Anyway sorry. I'll be off the phone in a few hours.